Square footage: 1,000
The historic Koten Chapel is an intimate setting for recitals, concerts, lectures, weddings and worship services. Built in 1913 and nestled inside Kiekhofer Hall, Koten Chapel is warm and inviting with distinctive dark wood pews and altar area, handsome stained-glass windows and soaring ceiling, providing near perfect acoustics.
In 2006, the chapel was thoroughly renovated and refurbished. With new lighting, updated sound system and projection technologies, the chapel is contemporary and functional for College and community use. It seats 150, including 50 seats in the balcony, and an additional 75 in a separate community room adjacent to the chapel's lobby for receptions and informal gatherings.
Koten Chapel is easily accessible with its own drive-up entrance off Loomis Street and second entrance with elevator access from Kiekhofer Hall’s back parking lot.
Since 1979—three years after North Central College purchased Kiekhofer Hall and its chapel from the Evangelical Theological Seminary the chapel has been known as the Roy Y. and Margaret Koten Chapel, recognizing the close ties of the College to several generations of the Koten family. The renovations were made possible through a gift from Jane Koten, alumna of the class of 1955, and her brother John Koten, alumnus of the class of 1951, and his wife Catherine.