North Central College Fine & Performing Arts

DuPage Symphony Orchestra, "New Beginnings"

Buy Tickets Now
The DuPage Symphony Orchestra's season opening concert begins with a captivating musical sunrise: Carl Nielsen's Helios Overture, which evokes the Sun God of Greek mythology and depicts the sun rising and setting over the Aegean Sea. The program continues with Beethoven's masterfully poetic Piano Concerto No. 4 in G Major, notably commencing with solo piano rather than with an orchestral introduction. Paired with this great Beethoven masterpiece is Nielsen's Symphony No. 2, "The Four Temperaments," whose lively and descriptive movements follow an innovative pattern of progressive tonality. Pianist Daniel Hsu is the featured soloist in the Beethoven Fourth Concerto. Praised by The Philadelphia Inquirer as "a poet . . . [with] and expressive edge to his playing that charms, questions, and coaxes," Hsu was named a 2016 Gilmore Young Artist as well as First Prize Winner at the 2015 Concert Artists Guild Competition.
Pricing:  $38, $15
A $2 online processing fee is included for all tickets purchased online. Tickets order less than 10 days in advance will be held in Will Call. All purchases are final. No refunds or exchanges.

Event Date:

Saturday, October 14, 2017 - 8:00pm to 10:00pm